Stepping Outside of TTUAC

     I know it seems like I’m proverbially “beating the dead horse” with this, however I wanted to expand a bit on a few things that I have read outside of Pearl’s disputed child “training” tome. Specifically, there are some rather disturbing comments that were posted on Facebook.

     The thing about Facebook and a lot of the “new media” is that it brings out the best and the worst in people. When the internet started back in the nineties, there was indeed a great deal of anonymity. Now, it seems like people have taken the behaviours and comments that they once posted under the cover of that anonymity, and become so comfortable with them that they have no shame in being associated with what they post. The same goes for Michael Pearl evidently, because what I’ve read in his FB posts reveals a much darker, sinister side of the man behind TTUAC’s principles.

     A number of you reading this may know what I’m talking about. A Facebook Note from March 1st of last year, less than a month after the death of Lydia Schatz conveys Mr. Pearl’s disdain for critics and detractors of his teachings. The following are excerpts from the post, along with my personal thoughts on the matter:

“It has come to my attention that a vocal few are decrying our sensible application of the Biblical rod in training up our children.”

     Better to be one of the vocal few, than the silent masses. (I seem to recall something about a “voice crying out in the wilderness”…) “..sensible application of the Biblical rod”? Do we really need to get into that whole “fifteen licks with a rubber hose on a seven-year-old” thing again? I don’t recall Moses, King David, Saul, Solomon, Noah or anyone else in either testament running down to Home Depot to buy 1/4 inch plumbing supply line in bulk to properly “train up” their progeny…

“I laugh at my caustic critics, for our properly spanked and trained children grow to maturity in great peace and love. Numbered in the millions, these kids become the models of self-control and discipline, highly educated and creative-entrepreneurs that pay the taxes your children will receive in entitlements.”

     Mr. Pearl makes the assumption (you know what they say about “assume”!) that those who receive benefits and subsidies such as Social Security, Cash Aid, Food Aid, MediCare etcetera were not “properly spanked and trained children”. Wow. My grandmother was on SSI until she passed away, and was one of the kindest, most inner-beautiful Christian women I have ever known.

“When they go to a doctor, it will be one of our Christian children that heals them with cutting edge innovation.”

     Hmm. My daughter’s last regular pediatrician was from India, so I wouldn’t know about that one…

“When your children grow old and realize their mortality and seek to make peace with their Creator, it will be one of our children that shares with them the message of God’s love and forgiveness.”

     Another gross assumption. Just because I’m not using Michael Pearl’s doctrine of child “training” doesn’t mean that I’m not teaching my daughter about Jesus Christ, the Bible and why we believe the way we do! More arrogance from the league leader…

“My five grown children are laughing at your foolish, uninformed criticism of God’s method of child training…”

     How DARE Michael Pearl presume to speak for God! So now Pearl’s method is GOD’s method? I can tell what comes next in this hit parade; making the statement that he is “like unto God”. Michael Pearl, you’d better watch your shizzle! The last sentient being that made that statement ended up getting his teets in the wringer, along with one-third of the host that followed him!

“My granddaughters laugh with joy after giving their baby dolls a spanking for “being naughty” because they know their dolls will grow up to be the best mamas and daddies in the world-just like them.”

     I find this one sentence to be the most disturbing of the entire post. If this is indeed true, then these kids are already maladjusted, even before reaching adulthood. NO ONE should ever feel “joyful” about causing another pain. That is callous, hateful and just plain W – R – O – N – G on several levels! Now I feel I can safely draw the parallel between Michael Pearl and Fred Phelps, founder and Pastor of Westboro Baptist Church. Both are teaching their children to hate, albeit in differing ways. While Phelps teaches outward and straight forward hate, Pearl instills it subtly through his “training” methods. This alone makes Michael Pearl far more of a dangerous influence than Fred Phelps, not to mention that thousands of people around the world are reading his tome and applying its principles.

     At this point, I do not feel that I need to read the book in order to prove the impeachability of its content. All that is needed is to observe the comments of its author. I guess I should read it at sometime, so that I can more effectively refute its contents like Julie, one of my readers suggests. I will however, go into that reading with the disturbing image of maladjusted little girls, spanking their dolls and laughing about it, forever burned into my psyche. This saddens my heart.

http://www.facebook.com/notes/no-greater-joy-ministries/laughing-by-michael-pearl/378945952575

15 comments on “Stepping Outside of TTUAC

  1. Something else I have noticed after going back and re-examining the notes space of NGJ on Facebook: there’s another note dated Wednesday, March 17th of 2010, entitled “Pray For Michael Pearl”, that notes the death of Lydia Schatz, and the fact that Mr. Pearl will be interviewed by The Early Show on CBS. It encourages readers to pray for Mr. Pearl to give a good interview. It mentions NOTHING about prayers for the Schatz children or the Paradise, CA community.

    So basically, there’s this tragedy going on, the Pearls get some bad press, and all of a sudden it becomes a “we’re under ATTACK! PRAY FOR US!” scenario. I dunno about anyone else, but this strikes me as particularly self-centered…

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/note.php?note_id=417663642575

    http://www.nogreaterjoy.org/answers/response-to-schatz-case

  2. …wow- I really can’t believe Pearl’s words!

    • Believe it, because it’s true. (That he said it, not that what he said is true…) What’s really troubling is that there are several thousand parents out there that actually think Michael Pearl and his book are a Godsend!

  3. Jacob W. Morphew says:

    I get the distinct feeling this book, Pearl and people like him, will be one of the greatest reasons people leave Christianity for good. They break many of the cardinal rules set down by the core of the Bible is to teach those who follow the faith. Its saddens me to see decent people leave a faith they believe in so strongly simply because their “fellow” are setting a bad example of what a Christian should be… Bare in mind to you all, these words come from the mouth of a Pagan, and this still saddens me.

    • truelibertarian says:

      Ugh, I hate when people misuse this word…. Paganism is a specific religion, not a lack of Christianity (though a specific religion that isn’t Christianity does actually have a lack of Christianity, I suppose).

      • – interruptus –

        If a person who worships their cat wants to call their belief system Hello Kittyism, so be it. I’d much rather we stay on (or close to) topic on this one…

        – gratis –

  4. Julie says:

    I too was horrified at his response to the beating death of an innocent child. What kind of person does that? Of course, we all know that his book doesn’t condone beating a child to death. However, wouldn’t someone with a heart of humility at least respond by saying..”My book in no way condones murder…and I am horrified that someone was propelled by my teachings to beat their child to death! And for this I am greatly sorry!” (Of course, that wouldn’t be enough for me but it would at least show some emotion) Unfortunately, we get none of that. It shows that he feels like the only time apology is needed is if you are guilty. And let’s all remember..He SINS NO MORE! The complete and utter lack of any form of humility, in my opinion, is enough for us as christians to write his teachings off completely. No more of this “take the good and leave the bad” which is what I’ve heard many christians say in regards to his teaching. (And is what I did for awhile) I think we need to LEAVE IT ALL. I for one, know that his teachings, even if you don’t agree with parts of it, leave one feeling like if they could just do exactly what he says you will have perfect children. I read his books and just couldn’t do what they said. But in the back of my mind I often wondered if I was going against the word of God. I know it goes against common sense, but I feel like he has a very sinister way about him. It’s cultish. That is a very dangerous place to be when you are a new parent seeking advice on raising the new precious child that God has given you.

    • I agree. At the very least he could have clarified his teachings and said something to the effect of, “Do not spank for more than 2 hours per day because it could be harmful.” But no. He does not clarify, does not back down about being 100% consistent. Will not admit that if someone takes his teachings LITERALLY they are in grave danger of killing a child. He can and will not see that his teachings, when taken to the logical conclusion, are dangerous.

  5. Queen Vicki says:

    What’s interesting is that he also assumes that anyone who isn’t a Christian is automatically a bad person. I’m quite deeply offended by that. I have known many people of many faiths. I’m Jewish and so is my mother. My father is an Athiest, as is my best friend. My other best friend and his family are Buddhists. They’re all wonderful people. He’s essentially judging entire groups of people without personally knowing any one of them. That’s just wrong. It’s very hypocritical and un-Christian of him to do so. While I respect that this man has an opinion and that he has every right to it, what right does he have to insult and condemn many groups of people? In short, he’s a jerk.

  6. Brenda King says:

    I don’t think I have ever read anything more callous and arrogant as Mr. Pearl’s “laughing” article. You fear “beating the proverbial dead horse” with your post, but I’m glad you wrote it. The more we can saturate the Internet with information about the dangers of the Pearls, the better.

    I agree with Linda; if you read the book, do so with lots of prayer protection. It is incredibly hard to read, and simply an an evil book. If you want some exact quotes, with page numbers, you can see them in the book review I wrote here: http://www.positivelyfeminine.org/literate/bk/ttuac2.htm .

  7. I read the book years before we even had access to the internet regularly. I was appalled that someone recommended it to me- a Christian sister whom I trusted. The idea of whipping an infant for touching a gun that YOU placed in the middle of a room in order to train them from temptation is just one of the many sick, vile teachings in that book.

    So- I am not surprised that Mr. Pearl is now showing just how twisted his mind works for the entire world to see.

    • Honestly Aadel, I’m not surprised that it was a Christian woman that recommended this book. Mr. Pearl does a good job covering himself with the shepherd’s cloak, and has the basics of wordsmithing down. The thing that works to his detriment though, is that he’s arrogant. Arrogant people eventually show their TRUE colors…they can’t help it! Facebook is an especially good place for finding these revelations, as in this case…

      Please let me make something clear. I have three children of my own, and do use corporal punishment as one of many ways to discipline. The difference is that I NEVER feel “joyful” about having to spank my daughter (my sons are both grown now). She gets no more than three to four swats per spanking, and that usually suffices. AND, I ALWAYS follow it up with a positive reinforcement talk, asking her if she realizes what she has done wrong, what she should have done instead, and telling her that I love her. (Not loving for doing the bad thing, but loving her enough to care to ensure that she does the RIGHT things!) If I didn’t, I would just let her run roughshod.

  8. […] Cybersattva responds to Michael Pearl’s comments on Facebook (from March 2010) in Stepping Outside of TTUAC. […]

  9. Don’t read the book before covering yourself with prayer. That book is some powerful oleander honey.

    • It’s not just the book though. People are flocking around Pearl on FB and on his website, hanging on the words this charlatan writes.

      My wife and I were talking about my blog last night. (I always run my thoughts and topics by her in the process of writing them, it helps me flesh out certain things!) She described the behavior of the Pearl grandchildren in one word: Sociopaths. These children are learning sociopathic behaviors at an early age, from the adults around them…

Speak YOUR mind!

