Who Protects Families From CPS?

     I’ve been chatting up a few people lately in the field of Social Services. The reason for this is that I have a few friends with ongoing issues with Child Protective Services in the county where I reside. One of the questions that I posed to them was regarding people’s use of CPS as a retaliatory tool. For instance: a friend becomes a frienemy, and just to get back at their former friend, calls CPS and makes a false claim against the parent(s). (This has happened to us a few times, so I know it does occur.)

     Specifically, my question had to do with prosecution of the filer of the false claim for harassment. What I ended up finding out was that any reports that CPS receives remain confidential, even if the person reporting provides their identity. Should the claim turn out to be false and the parent(s) wish to pursue court action, CPS does NOT have to divulge the identity of the reporter! In my opinion, this is pure BOVINE SCATOLOGY!

     If you ask me, I think CPS possesses far too much power. They have the power to rip apart families at will, based solely upon their own subjective observations. Most of these “workers” possess little to no real experience in fields of Psychology, Child Development or other valuable, applicable subjects. Granted, there are some cases that are so obviously detrimental to the child, that even the most daft social worker can tell something is amiss. What I’m talking about however, are cases where a child is seized from the home just because they cut their lip open while climbing over the back of the couch! (I actually DID this when I was four years old, but back then my mom and dad didn’t have to worry about a hyper-suspicious county Social Services program!)

     We need to start lobbying our local lawmakers to instill some protections for PARENTS. Child Protective Services agencies need to be placed in check. They started out as a good idea, but we’ve allowed them entirely too much leeway.

     (Add-on thought:) I apologize for not addressing this very obvious discrepancy with the original version of the post, however I just had the epiphany. CPS seems to be in DIRECT violation of the Sixth Amendment of the United States Constitution, which states the following:

“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall have been committed, which district shall have been previously ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the witnesses against him; to have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his defence.”

     How is it that CPS can get away with taking action without due process, acting on heresay AND denying the accused party the right to face their accuser? This bears some further research, which will result in another blog post at a date to be determined…

2 comments on “Who Protects Families From CPS?

  1. truelibertarian says:

    Yeah, I read an article comparing CPS to the mob. They’re frighteningly similar.

  2. I’d amost forgotten to mention this, and I’m double-fwapping myself in the forehead for it! I have a close friend and neighbor that this (the use of CPS as a tool to malign) has happened to, twice by the same person! This sick, twisted woman called CPS on my friend, and then called the nearby elementary school where my friend’s child was enrolled, who then called CPS to relay the “concern”! In short, the “CPS abuser” used both the county CPS agency AND the local school district as pawns in her campaign of harassment. (I say campaign due to the fact that the same woman also placed a false ad on Craig’s List with my friend’s name and address as the advertiser.)

    Neither CPS nor the school district ever admitted that they had been duped, just that the report was unfounded. To the best of my knowledge, the “bad neighbor” was never held to account for it either. (She DID however, end up getting kicked out of her apartment later on, for an unrelated issue. I guess karma got her where the law couldn’t.)

Speak YOUR mind!

