American Rhetoric: Read My Lips Redux, and Freeman Morgan

Congressional Rep. Michele Bachmann (R. MN)

Read My Lips, Redux

     If I’m honest, I scratched Michele Bachmann off of my list even before the Iowa Straw Poll. She scares me. Michele Bachmann reminds me too much of Sarah Palin, and I am definitely not a Palin fan. (Palin’s a fake. While she was filming “Palin’s Alaska”, and outwardly she gave the appearance of “roughing it,” behind the scenes it was all about the Perrier and pillows!)

     Bachmann is too closely tied to the Tea Party radical right of the Republican side for me to be comfortable with her sitting behind the Resolute Desk at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue. Now, it seems that she is starting to echo another “broken promise” from not-so long ago; the “Bushism” (George HW Bush) from 1988 regarding new taxes:

     According to Michele Bachmann, every dollar we earn should be ours to keep. But let’s recap this in her own words, from the latest GOP debate:

“I think you earned every dollar, you should get to keep every dollar that you earn. That’s your money, that’s not the government’s money. That’s the whole point. Barack Obama seems to think that when we earn money it belongs to him, and we’re lucky just to keep a little bit of it. I don’t think that at all. I think when people make money it’s their money.”

     This sounds an awful lot like either she wants to try funding government on zero taxes, which is virtually impossible, or the early stages of that old broken promise I mentioned before. I’d personally like to know how Mrs. Bachmann intends to fund government with no tax money coming in. Our taxes pay for everything from roads, to defense, education, homeland security, environmental protection, disaster relief…the list is gigundous! (A nod to Art Bell with that word!) But I digress. Bachmann is definitely a bust.

______________________________

Morgan Freeman on Piers Morgan

Morgan Freeman, from his appearance on Piers Morgan

     Earlier this week, Morgan Freeman gave an interview on the Piers Morgan show. During the interview, he made the assertion that the stated aim of the Republican party was, in his words “racist.” The GOP stated aim is to ensure that Barack Obama is a one-term president, whatever it takes. He went on to discuss the strong influences that the Tea Party has within the GOP, and how since Obama’s election, the Tea Party’s emergence has been like stirring up “muddy water”.

     Personally, I don’t think the stated GOP aim is a case of “let’s get this black man out of the White House,” like Freeman insists. I rather think that it’s more like “let’s get this Democrat out of the White House.” Is that in and of its self “racist”? I don’t think so. I do, however think it warrants a deeper look-see into the motivations behind what’s going on in the GOP, and the level of influence that the Tea Party is exerting on them.

     I did agree with one thing that Morgan Freeman said during the interview though, when he described the reason that everyone was “in tears when Obama got elected.” Freeman reiterated the idea that, at that point in time, we transcended all that we had been in the centuries preceding that moment. At that moment in time, we as Americans had the beautiful realization that anything was now possible. I personally remember feeling that way during the “Hello, Chicago!” victory speech in November of 2008. I admit, I shared in the elation of that night. Granted, I think Obama has done a wretched job as president, but the possibilities still remain for us to rise above everything that holds us back as a nation, and be that “shining city on the hill” that Ronald Reagan envisioned us to be.

Speak YOUR mind!

